Sign in to follow this  
Steerpike

The Big Threeeeeeeeee!

Ok Guys,

Thanks for the advice.

I now have 2 of "The big three". Kirkland 5% Minoxidil and Nizoral.

I just used Minoxidil, 1ml, on the back of me old bonce. I am wary of using it on the front? I don't want to suffer alopecia as this is where I have lost most. Receeded quite far too. Anyone reckon its worth using here as well? Any experience of success on temples / front?

I'll us the Nizoral tomorrow.

Is it worth taking Proscar too? What are the side effects? Isnt it for prostate trouble?

CHeers!

Hello Steerpike! Yes your right, proscar was primarily developed for the condition of an enlarged prostate, but an added benefit of the drug is that it blocks the enzyme that kills ur hair follicles.

I have been using it for seven years now with minimal side effects. Its gotta be worth a try? What have you got to lose apart from the obvious! If you suffer side effects just stop taking it! The side effects are reversible. Details of possible side effects can be found on the web.

I would advise you see a doctor before starting treatment tho just for added peace of mind.

Initially my hair was transformed from peach fuzz to a decent head of hair, i was lucky, i started the treatment early enough (22) to save the follicles that hadnt been destroyed - best thing i ever did!

Best of luck!

Tom

How long does the follicles take to be destroyed fully and to be re-born, if I may use that expression, after using Proscar and so on?

From what I read Proscar can bring back hair lost in the last 2 years, can it be more than 2?

I use Minoxidil mostly on the back but also spread a bit to the front just in case because I rememver someone posted on here that it grew hair for some on the front? Although I'm not sure how accurate that is.