Sign in to follow this  
hudsonhawke

Patches Of Hairloss, Would Appreciate Advice [photo]

Hi guys,

I'm 30 years old and have very dry, limp hair that is very difficult to style. It is also very thin at the side of my head and practicaly un-stylable there. Though I dont have any scalp irritations or signs of hairloss elswhere. My hairline is receded, but has been like that for many years without much change.

It is only the past month or so that I have noticed pretty bad patches of hair thining/loss in the temple areas, more so on the right side (see photo). Again, this has pretty much happened within a month or so, so it's got me pretty worried.

I'm a total noob on treatments, but I have been reading up here on the big three. Propecia seems to be the main winner for maintaining hair, but could someone direct me to the side effects? and would I need a perscription? Also somthing that would treat the dry limpness would be a major bonus (Minoxodil?)

I've read about the rogaine foam and that sounds good, but it says not to be used on receding hairlines?

Right now I'm just looking at preventing more hair loss around this area and to also improve the quality of my hair, just a bit confused as reading up here it seems most treatments are mainly for thining hair around the crown. There are alot of posts from guys with receding hairlines, but none that really tie up and I think a HT isn't really an option for me right now. Are there any non HT progression photos on receding hairline treatment?

I know you guys have probably answered these questions a hundred times before, but any advice you can offer would be very much appreciated B)

many thanks.

Hudson

http://i273.photobucket.com/albums/jj220/d...79/hairline.jpg

You seem to have done your research pretty well already... hope this helps fill in the gaps.

There are only two clinically-proven treatments for hair loss: